Rights have been asserted!

Sometimes at work I typeset books that will be sold in the U.S. and the U.K. On the copyright page of these books, underneath the usual “Copyright © 2009 by Esmeralda Button” (for example) we add the line “The moral right of the author has been asserted.”

Moral right, eh? Here it’s merely a legal right. In the U.K., morality is also on your side. Woe be unto he who abridges either your legal OR your moral rights!

I dunno, I just think it’s a cool sentence. Or maybe I’m just giddy with the excitement that only comes when it’s time to leave for a weekend.

About Charlie Montney

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I work from home most days leveraging resources to create shareholder value. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment