Back on January 1st I mentioned my mom was in the hospital. She’s still there recovering from her bout with cellulitis, which came up fast and got nasty right after Christmas. She’s doing better, still getting antibiotics and some wound care, since the swelling tore up her foot and lower leg. Her first eight days were spent in a regular hospital; then she was sent to a long-term acute care facility, which is kind of like a regular hospital but focused on a limited range of functions (no emergency room, no birthing center — Mom misses the lullabyes played throughout the hospital when a baby was born at the old place). I wish I could say it was as nice as the previous hospital, but I guess she doesn’t need all that, as long as they do give her what she needs for her condition. I just found out today that their tentative release date is Jan. 23rd, which will make almost four weeks. She probably won’t be completely ready for prime time then, either; we’ll have to wait and see what sort of in-home care needs to be arranged.

This coincides nicely with a bout of depression I’m having these days, which started well before Christmas. Basically, about all I’m managing these days is going to work and going to the hospital. There’s correspondence that’s lagging that really shouldn’t, not much music being made, and naps being taken at weird times. I mention this not for sympathy, but just to fill in anyone who might be wondering why things are quiet over here. It’s not exactly how anyone expected 2010 to start.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to

  1. All the best wishes for your mom. And also you, because you need to take care of yourself, too.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks. 🙂 I guess not doing much besides work and hospital visits is good, because I don’t need to over-extend myself. But there’s a good chance I wouldn’t be doing that stuff anyway because I feel so meh.

      I’m just glad they finally came up with a tentative date for her release. I know it could change, but … if nothing else, it lets me know that they must have some sort of treatment plan and expectations. For a while, I wasn’t sure.

      • Yeah, it sucks that sometimes you need to bug the hell out of a doctor to get answers.

      • songdogmi says:

        I was planning to get there at 7 a.m. either today or tomorrow to sit with Mom and wait for a doctor to come by. Although Mom is perfectly capable of getting information herself; I just hoped that maybe someone else there would perhaps force them to be a bit more forthcoming. But that doesn’t seem necessary now.

        There’s also the possibility that Mom was getting sufficient info from her doctors and not passing it along. But I’d rather not contemplate that too much.

  2. hellmutt says:

    Puppyhugs to you both.

  3. stitchjock says:

    Hang in there, dude. Things will improve, and hope to see you again before too terribly long.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks 🙂 Sorry I didn’t get to see you on New Year’s Eve… everything got thrown up in the air at the last moment (of course) … Sometime soon, yes.

Leave a Reply

