Lomax’s 1938 upper midwest field expedition

I’ve been music-geeking all day, first about early 20th-century American pop music and where it came from (that was kind of unsuccessful), and then about the recordings musicologist Alan Lomax made in Michigan and Wisconsin in 1938. Here are a bunch of related links. I don’t want to take time now to fill in context; I might later. This is a really cool thing to me.

“Michigan-I-O”: Alan Lomax and the 1938 Library of Congress Folk-Song Expedition from the Lomax Family Collections at the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress.

Direct link to podcasts from the LOC’s Lomax Michigan collection.

Event schedule for Michigan Folksong Legacy; Grand Discoveries from the Great Depression. Noting that February 3–March 31, 2014, the exhibition will be at the Beaumier Heritage Center at Northern Michigan University.

Finally, HuffPo article “Treasure Trove Of Early 20th Century Folk Music Unearthed In Michigan” which I put on my Facebook timeline a couple of months ago. This is probably the best place to start to learn about the collection and its significance.

The HuffPo article notes that a CD box set of recordings by Lomax is planned, to be published through the University of Wisconsin, but I have not found any concrete details on it yet. I want it i want it i want it…..

About Charlie Montney

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I work from home most days leveraging resources to create shareholder value. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment