There’s music, and then there’s music

A week ago, I played a show at my regular coffeehouse with a friend, a couple of singer/songwriters with guitars and caffeine. Tonight, I’m going with another friend to see the Detroit Symphony Orchestra play Mahler’s 10th symphony and a world premiere guitar concerto by Chris Brubeck, with Sharon Isbin as the soloist. If that ain’t going from the ridiculous to the sublime, I don’t know what is. 🙂

Last week’s show was pretty good. The friend was Hugo Cruz, and he was getting over a chest cold or allergies that laid him low the previous week. Still, he was able to sing his very ambitious melodies and that was awesome.

I did pretty well, too. The highlight in my set, to me, was an old song called “Come With,” written by New England songwriter David Buskin, which I learned off the radio back in the late 1970s. I played it all through college, and eventually left it while I was writing my own songs. But I didn’t forget it, and about three years ago I finally procured the album it came from, so I could learn it right—there’s a key change that I’d never mastered, now I have. Last Saturday was when it came together completely for the first time since college.

The only bummer was, we didn’t have many people in the audience. We had high quality people, at least.

I’ll probably write about tonight’s concert in the next few days, if you’re curious about tunes with lots of instruments and no words.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Classical Music, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to There’s music, and then there’s music

  1. (virtually waving lighter to “Come With.) I look forward to your review of Sharon Isbin’s performance!

Leave a Reply

