Unsolicited promotional for Bandcamp.com

Last Friday (Feb. 3), the music site Bandcamp.com (where my CDs live digitally) had a special event. For any purchase made, Bandcamp would donate their proceeds of the sale to the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU). During the event, they sold a million dollars worth of music, which was a 550% increase over their usual Friday sales. Bandcamp’s share is approximately 12% of the proceeds of a sale, so that means the ACLU got a lotta money. Especially since around 400 acts donated their share of the take to the ACLU too. Here’s their report on it.

None of the sales were of my music. I don’t say this to make anyone feel bad. For a lot of reasons, I didn’t expect to sell any more than usual, and usual has been nothing for a while. It would’ve been a good time for me to release a new recording, but that didn’t happen. So I wasn’t going to be a contributor to the effort that way.

So I bought stuff from Bandcamp. I spent about $50 on five different CDs, mostly from local folks. Bandcamp mostly sells downloads, if you’re wondering, but they also sell CDs (with included downloads) if the artist has those, and other “merch” too. Once you buy, you can stream your purchases all you want. You can stream before buying, too, though only a few times.

I think Bandcamp is one of the most underrated music sites out there, to be honest. There’s so much out there, and it’s not flooded with mainstream pop stuff like all my other favorite sites from the past, like mp3.com and myspace before they fell apart.

It felt good to buy the CDs, not just for the ACLU angle, but this is the sort of purchase for myself that I tend to put off and never quite manage. That would be a shame, because now I have cool music I didn’t have before. And I helped kick some bucks to an organization that I think will do us some good, too.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

