More words to sweep into the garbage bin

We have reached that point in the year: Lake Superior State University has unleashed the 42nd annual List Of Banished Words into a post-truth world. As deadly as 2016 has been to both people and to hopes and dreams, it wasn’t terribly kind to the English language either. “Post-truth” is in fact on the list, probably the most worthy entry in my opinion. (Don’t normalize today’s rhetoric by giving it a cute name!) There were a few I had never encountered before, like “831.” But then I still use whole sentences when I send text messages. I would’ve liked to see “alt-right” on the list, because, again, don’t normalize something bad by giving it a cute name. But maybe in 2017 I will nominate it for the 43rd annual list.

There are now around 850 words on the List of Banished Words, which has existed since January 1, 1976. I’ve used the list as my last LJ entry of a year for the last seven years, now. So click the link above to read the entire list, and find others by checking out my tag words. Then your night out ringing in the new year will be linguistically … on fleek.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

