Let the repudiation begin

“So why is HE depressed,” you might ask…

Here’s the biggest thing. Barack Obama is coming to the close of his presidency. He has been the most competent, intelligent, and smooth man to inhabit the Oval Office in my lifetime. There were accomplishments and seeds planted for the future, despite the best efforts of Congress. There were no scandals. (If you’re thinking “What about Reagan?” I will counter “What about Iran-Contra?” No such thing with Obama.) There was worldwide respect, despite what naysayers said about alleged apologies. He put our friends at ease. There are still more of our soldiers overseas than there should be, I think, but aside from that I have no complaints.

There are a lot of people who disagree. Tens of millions of Americans, apparently. And they elected a man to the presidency who is pretty much the antithesis of Obama. Donald Trump has no respect for the dignity of women or the importance of facts or traditions. He says the first thing that pops into his head and bypasses all “quality checks” and controls. He clearly does not know enough people to staff his cabinet, because he’s resorting to a cadre of rich people whose only qualification is that they’re rich. He cultivates the respect of white supremacists even if he doesn’t overtly encourage them.

And tens of millions of Americans think that’s more OK than having an “other” in the White House.

You’ll never get a better person in the White House than Barack Obama, America. And it’s apparent now that you’ve blown the opportunity to truly become greater than you were.

I’m just surprised I don’t drink twice as much as I do now.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

