I had a four-day weekend for Thanksgiving. Three-quarters of it is gone already. I can hardly believe it. I guess it didn’t help that I actually slept through most of Friday afternoon. I got some chores done today, though, and I’m planning on doing more tomorrow. Then again, I do deserve some fun time, so I’ve been spending plenty of time with my computer hobbies.

Wednesday night, I had to go to not one but two Kmarts to find a gift for my younger great-niece, who turned 7 on Wednesday. The goal was something called a Kitty Surprise. It’s a plush-bodied cat with a plastic face, and inside a zippered pouch on her underside she has between three and five kittens. Apparently this was a thing in the 1990s and early 2000s, and has made a comeback of sorts along with Puppy Surprise. I never have liked plushies with plastic faces; they always look butt-ugly to me. But my g-niece wanted it, so who am I to inflict my tastes on her? She was happy on Thanksgiving when I gave it to her. That’s good for me.

That’s the only real shopping I’ve done, as it’s my tradition to boycott Black Friday (and even blacker Thanksgiving) sales. It’s bad enough I have to shop for groceries tomorrow, but that’s necessary if I actually want to eat.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

