When George and Joe and Charles and Henry and Levi and Byron Come Marching Home

For this Veteran’s Day, I’m going to reach back to the American Civil War. A few weeks ago I discovered a news article written by someone who’s apparently a cousin to me about my great-great-grandfather (and namesake) and his brothers. The article is in a small weekly newspaper published in Algonac, Michigan, that covers the “Thumb” area of Michigan: The Brothers Montney (it’s on page 4, upper left corner).

Their father and mother had fifteen children, something not unheard of in the 19th century, six sons and nine daughters. All six sons took part in the Civil War on the Union side, and all six returned with at most only minor wounds if any at all. They all returned to Michigan to be farmers and raise families, mostly in St. Clair and northern Macomb counties. A couple of them were promoted to officer, including my great-great-grandfather, who saw action out of Kennerville, Louisiana, in western Louisiana and southeastern Texas.

I knew all the brothers served in the Civil War, but it only recently dawned on me how notable it was that they all returned in good shape. The article is very nicely written and summarizes the war careers of the brothers well. I’m not sure the band of them marching up their parents’ driveway actually happened — I mean, given they may have all been discharged at different times. It sure would’ve been a sight to see, though.

This is pretty much the best story I’ve uncovered in my entire family tree.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in genealogy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

