There’s got to be a morning after…

The thing I finally expressed Saturday night, after John & Sharon’s show at Crazy Wisdom (which was great, and I spent $50 on a book, CD, and greeting cards, so CW liked it too) was this:

No matter what happens tomorrow with the Presidential election, how do we move forward as a nation, as people? I think a lot of us have learned things we didn’t really want to know. Chief among them is, there is a significant number of fellow Americans who have a limited view of who among us have full rights to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. These folks have been there all along, but now their voices are loud and have been brought to the fore. Where in the past all politicians would denounce them, whatever their party, now there are candidates at all levels who will not, and in fact are accepting them as followers. So we can’t pretend that racists, anti-feminists, homophobes, and the like aren’t there anymore. We can no longer pretend that civil rights battles have all been won.

I know we have to get through the election, first, but how do we proceed afterward? Whether the winner is Clinton or Trump, what do we do to prevent things from becoming even worse? I hope there are people working on this.

(OK, yeah, I’m just hand-wringing. I have no answers.)

* * * * *
DET Weather: Heavy fog early, then sunny; high 64℉ (17.7℃). Still above normal temps.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

