November 1, 2016

Welcome to November. The high today in Detroit was 75°F (24°C). That is insane. But rain comes tomorrow, and for the rest of the week we will back to seasonal temperatures again.

I have a great post coming up about my great-great-grandfather and his brothers, but I didn’t want to use it on the first day of the month. It could be the best one all November. I have been obsessing about family history for a few weeks now. I started filling in some four-times great grandparents on my mother’s side, which is kind of amazing to me since they’re either Ojibwa or Québecois. I’m getting close to what I think will be THE brick wall: The signing of the treaties between the Ojibwa of northern Wisconsin/Michigan/Minnesota and the U.S., which were in 1834 and 1842. How do I know about that? Because I submitted a paper for my class in Great Lakes Indian history at Northern in 1982 about the Treaty of 1842. There are signers of that treaty, one of which I’m kind of hoping to get a link to. Farther back than that, and I think there will be no written records to speak of. So I’ll have one branch of the tree DONE! Short, but done.

I probably should save this for some sort of dedicated LJ post where I summarize my paper. It’s actually in Northern’s archives. Yeah, I’m easily impressed.

Anyway, I’m getting a lot of new names for the various branches of my tree. While that’s nice, I think I need to focus in on what’s really important: getting good, solid documentation on my direct ancestors. This could be the part where I start sending twenty-dollar bills to state government agencies, asking for birth certificates and the like. There could also be road trips to libraries in far-flung places like Port Huron. How exciting is that? Don’t answer that.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

