A music post, finally

I have a show tomorrow (as in Sept. 17). I was asked to be part of a monthly singer/songwriter showcase hosted by Ron Leary, a Canadian songwriter (whose stuff is brilliant, may I add). We will be joined by another songwriter, Dave Toennies, whom I have yet to meet, and I am looking forward to doing so. It’s at The Dovetail in Warren (Hoover just north of 12 Mile, look for the President Tuxedo sign) and starts at 8 p.m. We’ll have a tip jar if you like us more than some of your money.

You can look up both Ron Leary and Dave Toennies on the Web and find their music. In fact, I think you should.

When I booked the show, a little over a month ago, I thought this would be the perfect reason to write a new song. That didn’t happen. One can’t make creativity happen … unless, that is, one actually works at it. No, I’m not one of those who feels he needs to be kissed by the muse before he picks up a pen. I believe one needs to be available, as in already working, in case the muse drops by. I just haven’t started the work yet. So tomorrow’s show is going to be all old familiar songs, although I’ll try to pick a couple I don’t play often.

I did finally start working with my old Windows 7 laptop to try to install my recording gear and software on it. I know I’ve mentioned before that it’s supposed to be compatible with Win7 though it wasn’t compatible with my old desktop computer that runs WinXP. I’ve been clearing out old files first and trying to do system updates (which aren’t working for some reason). Maybe this weekend I’ll try to do the installation and see what happens. Recording might be fun. It might make me write more songs. Who knows?

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

