Charles Sanderson, 1968-2016

My friend and onetime collaborator Charles Sanderson passed away unexpectedly over the last weekend of July. Charles and I performed as a duo through much of the 1990s, and his percussion work appears on both of my CDs. He was also the percussion counterpoint to the bunch of guitarists in Big Green X. which included John Finan. As of early this week, it was thought Charles passed from natural causes. He was 48.

Toward the end of the Big Green X period, he got very close to friends from the Michigan Renaissance Festival, and was involved in specific activities including RESCU. He also made small quantities of absinthe. (!) He also did live sound for shows including Detroit’s The Dirty Show.

I don’t think I ever thanked him enough for lending his talents to my music. The best I can do now is tell you all that I’m glad he did so. I, along with many others, will miss him.

I borrowed this photo from his LJ; it’s from 2006, I think:
Charles Sanderson in Ren Faire garb, 2006

[NOTE The following paragraph is not current; the GoFundMe was completed sucessfully.]
There is a GoFundMe page raising money for funeral expenses. There is also a memorial and fundraiser scheduled for Friday evening, August 12th at the Black Lotus Brewing Company in Clawson, Michigan (here’s the Facebook page).

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

