Bluegrass genius

The Danger of Genius: Bill Monroe and Tony Rice, by Ted Lehmann (from No Depression magazine’s website), in which the author shares thoughts from his reading of the book The Geography of Genius by Eric Weiner and relates it to the history of bluegrass music. I’ll leave the details to be discovered in the article (read it, read it!).

I started off with a great interest in bluegrass in the early 1980s, though in the last few years I’ve both played more oldtimey music and listened with awe to musicians who’ve taken bluegrass to different areas (Bela Fleck, Chris Thile, etc.); bluegrass is kind of the middle in that continuum. I guess you can say it all started for me with Bill Monroe. Tony Rice is one of my guitar heroes, though.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

