Weekend music report

I forgot to write about the show that was coming up, didn’t I? This was Friday night at The Dovetail coffeehouse in Warren, with my good friend Mike Dorn. Mike was visiting his family here; he moved to Florida a few years ago. We got some old regulars from Gotham City Cafe to come out along with most of Mike’s family, and we had a ton of fun. I played a few songs, Mike played a few, we repeated that a couple of times, and in between caught up with everyone. We made no money in tips, which has never happened before, but I don’t think we were trying to make money. It would’ve seemed churlish to try to extort money out of the crowd this time. They listened so closely and sang along, and that was payment enough. I know that’s corny, but it’s true.

Last night, I got to be strictly audience at the Solstice show by my friends Finvarra’s Wren. I’ve been to quite a few of these Solstice shows now, and it might be the only holiday tradition I appreciate nowadays. Finvarra’s Wren is a fine Celtic band with a little bit of American old-time mixed in. They have an original song, “The Solstice Song,” which is a great song for all to join in to sing back the spring. So we sang it, and we were warmed by it.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

