December 4, 2015

November ends, and I fall off the LJ wagon again. Sorry about that. For the record, I posted 22 entries in the 30 days of November. I think that’s roughly equivalent to the previous six months’ posts, but I’m not going to stop and count now. I do enjoy writing here, when it goes well and I have something to write about.

My coworkers took me to lunch on Wednesday to celebrate my 30th anniversary at work. We went to La Marsa for Mediterranean cuisine. Shwarma! Hummus! Baklava! What’s not to like? I mean, besides sitting at desk afterward with an overly full belly.

Dave arrived last night for the weekend. Saturday night we’re going to see the DSO perform Mahler’s second symphony (The Resurrection). Also happening Saturday night in Detroit is Noel Night, a big holiday celebration that involves concerts and caroling all over Midtown, which I always used to call the Cultural Center. Traffic is going to be nightmarish, I fear. Orchestra Hall is at the south end of the district, so we might do all right.

While I was typing the last paragraph, a guy came to the door offering to clean out my gutters for a ridiculously low fee. He had a friend and they were done in ten minutes or less, so I added a tip. It would’ve taken me something like two hours to do that, since I don’t have a tall ladder or the confidence to use one.

The rest of the week has been routine. The shootings in San Bernardino, California, left me angry and disgusted. I know I’m not doing my job as a blogger by not adding my voice to the giant scrum on the topic. I may write more later, but for now I’ll just say that the fact that nothing, at all, has been done to prevent such shootings is unconscionable. I don’t mean any one particular action; I mean that no action of any type has been taken by any legislative body in America. No wonder we keep getting more shootings like this.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

