Nov. 30, 2015: The rest of the long weekend

I had quite the quiet, unambitious long weekend. I was on holiday both Thanksgiving day and the Friday after, and I had only one commitment, Thanksgiving dinner at my sister’s. That went mostly well, until something political came up. That didn’t exactly go well, but … well, I might write about that (in general terms) later. Or not. The dinner was good. I was responsible for supplying vegetables and dinner rolls. I brought a bag of frozen corn and a bag of mixed broccoli-carrots-water chestnuts-pea pods. I was the only one who had any of the latter. *shrug* I took the remainder of those and some leftover turkey home. There was no leftover pumpkin pie, sadly.

Then came my misadventures in Second Life, described previously, notable only because I really really hate “ralphing.” All that excitement on Thursday!

Friday, I was at Java Hutt for coffee and internet. Saturday, I was at The Dovetail for coffee and hanging out with James the Writer. In between were several naps. Friday was REI’s #OptOutside day, but we had cold drizzle and rain all day, followed by even colder drizzle. At least I wasn’t at a shopping mall.

Sunday was the most pleasant, because that was the day I was most awake. I finished my tape archive project by digitizing a few songs that are just plain bad (hey, they can’t all be gems). I also pulled out the remaining VHS videos from behind the DVDs. Now the video tapes are in three piles: ones to discard right away, ones that will probably be discarded soon, and ones that I want to try digitizing. Yes, another one of THOSE projects! These are mostly concerts from more than a decade ago. I bought software and hardware that’s supposed to let me transfer from my VCR to the laptop. I haven’t installed yet, but soon, my preciousssss, soon…..

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

