Late last week, at lunch, I told a coworker that I was going to withdraw from the world and explore virtual reality. The lunch chatter was mostly about awful things in the world, so maybe my instinct was understandable. So, over the weekend, I actually did something; I got an account on Second Life. I’d only been thinking about it for ten years or so. The main reason for my long reticence was, I was kind of scared of the learning curve, but that’s not a good reason to avoid anything, really. (Well, performing brain surgery, maybe.) So I set up my avatar, downloaded the software, and started wandering around in what I’m sure is the endearing way all SL newbies do, which is about as coordinated as a 18-month-old who has recently learned to not only walk, but to fly. Yes, one can fly in SL. I don’t know if one can crash, yet. I was pretty careful the one time I tried it.

Apparently it’s going to take hours to get my avatar to where it looks as I want it to. It doesn’t even have a beard yet! This is something up with which I will not put, to quote Churchill. At least it has long hair, though. More importantly, I’m going to have to figure out what to do in Second Life. It’s not exactly a game where you, say, capture a bunch of portals and defeat the rebels and go up a level. (There are games in SL, but you don’t have to play them.) Some people sell things to others, some people like to build things, some just like to chat. I’ve heard there are people who give live concerts. Hm. That’s an idea.

Seriously, though, did I really need another online social outlet? Especially since I don’t use all the ones I’m on very well. <looks at recent missed days in LJ> Well, hey. It’s free, so far, and it’s only time spent.

Anyway, are any of you-all on Second Life? Wanna tell me about it?

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

