May 10, 2015

My previous post started with an apology. And then I took another four weeks to write again. Obviously my apologies are not to be trusted.

The highlight of the last few weeks was seeing the Detroit Symphony perform Bruckner’s 4th symphony. with Dave as usual. Dave will be here in a short while as we go back to Orchestra Hall to see Mahler’s 1st symphony and a concerto performed by the famed violinist Midori not the famed violinist Midori who, unfortunately, cancelled due to illness.

In the meantime, I’ve managed to sleep an awful lot. This is what some depressed people do, see. Sigh. As it turns out, I have a sleep study scheduled for this week, so I have to somehow avoid three-hour naps this week, or else my sleep study will be a mess. It would be nice if I could feel better overall so I can avoid the naps. We’ll see. I’m going to try getting more physical activity in. I’ve been away from the gym for a few weeks, which is quite the waste of a gym membership fee. Even if I just use the treadmills and exercise cycles there, it’s a start.

I’m beginning the process of shopping for a new car. Pray for me. I haven’t done this in ten years. My Stratus has developed quite a few issues that haven’t prevented anything yet, but will at some point. So it’s probably time. I’m looking at outdoorsy kinds of cars from Jeep or Subaru (the latter being kishenehn‘s fault, but only partly). Well, I will be looking, when I actually get to a car lot and put myself at a salesman’s mercy. *shudder*

My lilac has bloomed and it’s having a good year. I took a photo, but I haven’t processed it yet.

Oh, yeah, the worst bit: I am still fighting with my Win7 laptop. I went so far as reinstalling the OS, then re-updating it, and finally when it seemed stable I downloaded the latest ESET NOD32 antivirus (which has worked very well for me for four years). And then … the very next day it did its hang routine with the frizzy geometric pattern onscreen again. GAH. I don’t know whether to kill myself or go bowling, at this point. It’s probably going to a repair shop at some point. I can’t imagine anything else I can do.

How’s this for an omnibus update? Too many subjects for one blog post, I know. Anyway… here’s hoping I come back sometime sooner than four weeks. Hope all y’all are well. You still look great.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

