It’s a good thing I don’t get paid by the number of LJ posts I make.

Update on my laptop: The repair shop determined that the hardware is OK, so the problem must be with either the operating system or other software; perhaps it’s a virus, or perhaps damaged system files. To repair that, they would have required me to buy an annual service plan. It’s possible they would’ve applied the diagnostic fee that I already paid to that subscription. But I took the machine back. I can fix software, even up to reinstalling Windows, if I have to.

That was a week ago. I did some work on the system, and it has worked better than before, though it still freezes up occasionally and I have to reboot. It seems to help when I clear the Firefox cache well before it gets to its maximum size. I can’t say that’s the thing, though. I’ll have to work on it some more.

Other news: I went to visit Dave in Indiana. I was driving there on the day the governor signed the so-called Religious Freedom Restoration Act. We spent a lot of time shaking our heads at news broadcasts. We went up to the Nashville House for chicken dinners, apple butter and biscuits, and giant home-made cookies to go. It was a very pretty day and the trip was only somewhat marred by horrible road construction just outside of Clarksville. (Grrr.)

Road construction is hugely prevalent now. At the Michigan-Ohio state border, one is confronted by a sign reading “Road Work Next 50 Miles” and they are not kidding. Of course, that’s better than in Michigan, where everyone pleads poverty and the roads are crumbling to dust, but that’s another rant.

Other than that, life has been pretty average lately. I have another thing to mention, but I’ll give that its own post.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

