The status is quo

It has been pretty dull in this corner of the universe these last couple of weeks. Since the last cannon blast of the 1812 Overture echoed away, it’s been a regular cycle of sleep, work, and eat, with occasional trips to the gym. I have managed to get to the gym twice a week, Tuesdays and Thursdays, regularly for a few weeks, and that makes me feel good. The significant cold spell we had from late January through February has lifted and most of the snow has melted.

Last week marked the first anniversary of my mother’s passing. I contemplated some sort of post here but couldn’t really pull anything together. Arguably, seeing the DSO play the 1812 was kind of the big thing in that regard for me. On last Friday, I alternated between goofy utterances and staring off into space for long moments. I’ve been OK other than that.

I’ve been lax in photography lately, so I ran out for a short trip on Saturday and managed to snag a photo of Sweetest Heart of Mary Catholic Church in Detroit as the sunlight got really nice and warm:
Sweetest Heart of Mary
That’s was about all I managed with the camera before the sun went behind a huge bank of clouds. Such is life.

I’m trying to come up with something exciting this weekend. Maybe some retail therapy, I dunno. A coworker thinks I should get a new tattoo, which doesn’t seem like the thing one should just jump into. I have long had ideas for another one, but not the pressing need to do it. I’ve long had all kinds of ideas in general. They’ve just kind of sat there, needing some sort of motivation to happen. I’ll report back if something does happen.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

