A quiz for oldsters

Remember quizzes? Here’s one with questions that adults can actually answer! Borrowed from changeling72:

1. How many jobs have you had, and which was your favorite?
Five companies; seven jobs. This doesn’t count two separate day labor jobs of one day each, and also doesn’t count the paid music gigs (that’s a contractor thing, so technically I work for myself). My favorite one was when I worked the tourist information booth for the town of Medora, North Dakota. It’s possible that was my favorite because it was only for about 6 to 8 weeks, but it was enjoyable talking to people and telling them where to go.

2. When did you first connect to other people via computers?
1992, I think.

3. Were/are you on AOL? Compuserve? LJ? Dreamwidth? A Listserv? Other?
I was on AOL for a while, though I had already figured out how to get online without it. Before THAT, I was on Prodigy — remember Prodigy?

4. If you went to college, does your major match your career/current job?
Nope. But when I started working here, if you considered my History bachelor’s as a general “liberal arts” degree, that fit the profile of editor very well. I have worked for a lot of history majors. But now I do book composition (f.k.a. typesetting) and that doesn’t match.

5. Have you had a mammogram? Colonoscopy?
Yes to a colonoscopy. The prep sucks but the sedatives are marrrrrvelous.

6. When did you get your first cell phone? What was it like? (Did it have a screen? Could you text? Was it a brick or flip?)
Around 1995. It was a brick, I guess. I don’t remember if it had a display of any sort, but it didn’t have a screen as we know them. And I think it could do text, but I never had a texting plan.

7. When did your family first acquire a colour TV?
1970. It was a cute little RCA. 11-inch screen.

8. When did your family acquire a second TV?
When we got our color TV (1970). But we mostly stopped using the B&W set, so we were effectively a one-TV family forever.

9. Did you ever own “designer jeans”?
Does Levi Strauss & Co. count as a designer? Otherwise, no.

10. Have you ever been to a disco?
Once, and in Marquette of all places. Otherwise, I’ve been to bars where there was dancing, but you couldn’t call them discotheques.

11. How many places (towns, states, countries) have you lived in?
Seven communities (Detroit, Chesterfield Township, Marquette, Medora ND, Harrison Township, Ferndale, Warren), two states (Michigan and North Dakota, though the latter was for only three months) and one country (guess!).

12. Have any of your contemporary friends died? (I.e., people more or less your age.)
Not friends, per se. People I knew through friends, yes.

13. Are your parents still living?
No.

14. Do you have any grey hairs?
Any? I have MANY grey hairs. Some of my grey hairs have grey hairs.

15. Did you or your family own a Betamax?
No. We were never that avant-garde

16. How did you spend New Year’s Eve 1999/2000?
I don’t remember. Possibly I hung out with my mom at her apartment.

17. What’s the oldest article of clothing you still wear?
The black jeans I’m wearing today, which I’ve had for a dozen years or so. I went for a while not really liking them, so I didn’t wear them much, but then I warmed up to them.

18. Do you eat your vegetables?
The ones I like, yes. No lima beans!

19. Are the privileges of adulthood worth the responsibilities?
On most days, I’m not sure.

20. Do you feel like an adult?
I guess so. *scuffs feet on floor* *looks down and away*

21. Is youth wasted on the young?
Yes, but who better to waste it on? Please don’t make me go back to my youth NOW.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

