So we’ve had a little snow.

Over sixteen inches (approx. 42cm) of snow fell at the big airport, which makes this the third highest recorded single-event snowfall (dating back to 1880). According to the National Weather Service’s map, my neighborhood got between 10 and 12″. Most areas from Pontiac south to Toledo got a foot at least, starting around 3 a.m. Sunday morning and lasting till about sunrise on Monday. Then to mock us, it got absolutely cloudless and sunny for the entire Monday.

I only had to shovel my driveway and sidewalk three times. That would be about four-five inches at a time, except we had high winds after a while so there was some drifting too. I get days off from the gym because of this. (My fitness, my rules.)

I thought about taking pictures, but I have seen this sort of thing before, and photographed it. Plus, I was cold and tired by the time I was done.

We never got this much at one time all last year, even though we set a seasonal record. We had a few stretches of time where it snowed 4-6″ a few times in a month, which gave us a foot or so accumulation for a long time. But this year, we’ve had only about three snow events. This one makes up for a lot of shortfall.

I took today off work (with my manager’s encouragement), because I didn’t remember to bring my work computer home with all the specialized software. Duh. I’m just glad I got out of the house tonight. I spent all day at home yesterday, which is unusual for me. I was getting cabin fever by this afternoon. I’d make a bad shut-in.

Here's what it looked like the last time we got a foot of snow, January 2005:
Snow day

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

