Another year, another crop of bummer words

It’s time for the 40th annual List of Words Banished from the Queen’s English for Mis-use, Over-use and General Uselessness. This year’s list is not quite as nice as previous years’, but still makes some good points. My favorite entry is “enhanced interrogation.” Let’s just call it what it is, shall we?

“Bae” was the first entry. At first I thought it was a kinda cute typo of “babe,” but then people kept using it and apparently even acronymized it into “Before All Else.” That’s when it really jumped the shark, I think. They can stop using it anytime, now.

They had nominations for “foodie” but I think the comments that LSSU quoted missed the point. A “foodie” is actually someone who seeks different, even exotic food choices. We all need food, but some of us are happy with peanut butter and jelly sandwiches while a select few seek out things with mango salsa and Caribbean slaw on them. The latter would be foodies, or so I think.

Anyway, see the whole list at the link above. There are now over 800 banned words and phrases. Feel free to send that list to your most annoying authors or journalists.

P.S.: I had a Tweet earlier this year where I proposed that we shorten “It is what it is” (added to the list in 2008) to “It’s what it’s,” so we could get past that nothingburger of a phrase to some actual ideas. That hasn’t entered common usage yet, but I still have hope that it does.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

