Late Sunday afternoon at Java Hutt

Selfie, with gray knit cap
It’s not as much fun to take selfies in a coffeehouse when you have to troubleshoot the webcam first. I only had to reboot the computer once. Anyway, hi! Dave and I saw this hat at Meijer last month and after I tried it on he convinced me I had to buy it. I hadn’t gotten a new hat in years and it was not expensive, so what the heck. Fortunately, it’s cold enough now that I can wear it a lot. You can perhaps also say “Unfortunately, it’s cold enough now…” if you are so inclined.

It’s my usual Sunday at Java Hutt in Ferndale, having their coffee even though I could actually make coffee at home. Today they had pumpkin pie, and they’re playing an online radio mix cool enough to contain Fleet Foxes and other cool tunes. I brought my stack of bills and other mail, sorted them, paid what needed paying, looked at what needed looking at, and felt like something was accomplished in the end. That let me feel as though I could do something frivolous like take a selfie in my spiffy new beanie/touque/whatyacallit. (In southern Indiana, they call it a toboggan. I thought a toboggan was longer. And wooden.)

I’m supposed to go grocery shopping. But it’s Sunday and I feel like procrastinating a little, as long as the music stays good.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Late Sunday afternoon at Java Hutt

  1. changeling72 says:

    It sounds like a good way to spend time on a. Sunday.

    • songdogmi says:

      It was good. I’ve gotten into the habit, even though the place is very crowded — someday I’m not going to find a seat and then I don’t know what I’ll do. The coffee is good and it’s nearby. Plus, one doesn’t have to pay for parking on Sundays.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Very nice! It looks cozy. 🙂

    • songdogmi says:

      It is a nice cozy hat. It’s Woolrich brand, so I was kind of surprised to find it in a Meijer.

      I just realized, it kind of matches a scarf that a friend made for me a couple of years ago, too. It’s not quite cold enough for the scarf yet, but soon it will be and then I’ll be extra dapper, I guess.

Leave a Reply

