No-Football Saturday

I gave up football this year. Watching football, to be specific. (I never played football. The very notion!) I’ve followed football since I was a small child, same with baseball and hockey. But the last few years have given me some serious misgivings about football, and this year’s scandal with domestic abuse by football players was the last straw for me. When the Washington Post published the article For battered NFL wives, a message from the cops and the league: Keep quiet, I took to Twitter to say Fuck the NFL. I will not watch, listen to, or follow the score of another football game. And I haven’t.

I’m sure the NFL is crying. Crying all the way to the bank.

This is a sacrifice. I don’t say that to puff my chest out, but a statement like this should represent some sort of cost one is willing to bear to make a point. I do miss it. I get off on following sport statistics. And when you want to just veg out on the couch, a football game is a pretty good way to go — I can see the storyline easily and I know what’s going on, and I can usually walk away when I want to. Perfect for 30 minutes on the treadmill, say.

But… it isn’t worth it. There is too much wrong with football, and I include college football in this too. I can put up with a lot, but football has just become … almost evil.

Still leaves a hole, though.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No-Football Saturday

  1. Watch home improvement shows instead, they’re great to veg out to.

    • songdogmi says:

      I used to veg out to the Weather Channel, but they pretty much stopped showing weather. Home improvement shows could work. I’ll have to be careful about nodding off — I’ll wake up and wonder how they got that garden planting into the bathroom they were just remodeling.

  2. zenicurean says:

    College football and how it works baffles me.

    • songdogmi says:

      The strangest thing about is that it’s pro football farm teams attached to large educational institutions.

      Plus, since the players themselves don’t really get paid (yes, they do get scholarships, but that doesn’t pay living expenses), it’s all the revenue of pro football with almost no salary expense! It’s amazing that has worked for decades.

Leave a Reply

