The threatened post on politics

Well, I voted. I wasn’t terribly excited about it, but I did it. In Michigan, we voted for governor and other statewide offices, as well as one U.S. senator, state legislators, and a few local judgeships, along with a couple of really pointless ballot initiatives.

On the way into the school where my voting precinct is, poll workers gave me two pieces of literature and a pen. I don’t understand getting the flyers; if I hadn’t read them before, I wasn’t going to read them while walking, and I couldn’t legally read them in the polling place. The pen is nice; it’s what I used to fill out my voting application (just a small slip of paper, to start the paper chain). It was from one of the judge candidates I planned to vote for.

Against my better judgment, I turned on the television around 10 and watched election coverage. It frosts my behind to hear Mitch McConnell go on about change in Washington, when he was one of the main reasons behind Washington gridlock for the last two years. Thanks, Kentucky, for sending him back. Thanks for nothing, that is.

At least it’s over. Until the 2016 presidential campaign starts, which may well be on Friday.

Wonder what the weather is like in Reykjavik for the next two years?

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The threatened post on politics

  1. changeling72 says:

    The Republican’s now control the Senate, don’t they? How could you, America?

    • songdogmi says:

      I can’t explain it. I can give you explanations from talking heads, but they’re pretending this is the normal way a country works. Congress has a 10% approval rating, yet Americans reelected 90% of its incumbents. The Republicans stymie every piece of legislation in Congress, making this session the least productive one in memory, yet they become the majority party of both houses. Pro-marijuana and minimum wage increases pass in several states yet other states send very conservative representatives to Washington D.C. A surrealist writer couldn’t come up with such a plot in a novel.

  2. maxauburn says:

    Remember- this is the country that elected Bush jr- twice. 😛

Leave a Reply

