Elevenses

Yesterday was my 11th anniversary of the start of my LJ. I think Emily Post says the appropriate 11th anniversary gift is a four-gigabyte thumb drive; used is OK.

I usually post on the actual day, and include statistics on the number of posts and who has commented and whatnot. These stats aren’t really worth much, so I’m not doing that this year unless there is a great clamor for such a thing. You may start clamoring now if you wish.

Tomorrow is November 1, and in the last three years I’ve made an effort to post every day (succeeding, approximately, in two years). I don’t know if I should publicly commit to that this year or not. I haven’t been posting every week so far this year. But … we’ll see.

I should admit something. This year, I created a WordPress blog under the same user name. It’s intended to mirror this one, archiving all the posts in case something awful happens like an extended DDoS attack or a rampaging head of state in an already problematic land. Funnily enough, this has been quite a stable year for LJ, but it’s always good to be prepared.

Thank you, everyone who reads my LJ and who lets me read theirs. It’s still a much-enjoyed daily diversion that I appreciate greatly after all these years.

(P.S.: Is anyone clamoring yet?)

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Elevenses

  1. zenicurean says:

    It seems only yesterday we were all fiddling around with floppies, and now we carry around 256GB flash drives in our back pockets. The future is weird.

  2. changeling72 says:

    *Clamour* (That’s ‘clamor’ in British).I copied my blog over to Dreamwidth some time ago for the same reason, though I haven’t kept the Dreamwidth copy updated. I need to do that.And Happy Anniversary! Here’s to the next eleven years…

    • Anonymous says:

      If you enter your post on Dreamwidth and tell it to also duplicate the post on LJ, you can post to both at once. I don’t know if that’s possible if you do the entry from the LJ side.

    • songdogmi says:

      I tend to forget to update the WordPress copy, too.

      Thanks! And also to you — your anniversary is around this time too, isn’t it?

  3. Anonymous says:

    Congratulations on sticking with LJ through the bad times. I admit it, I gave up on them after the multiple purges and the plague of Russian spammers.

    • songdogmi says:

      Which means you missed the DDoS attacks and the worrying about whether you were supporting an anti-gay regime by keeping your blog….

      Thanks, though. We start these things not thinking about the passage of time, and then we look back surprised at all the years gone by.

      • Anonymous says:

        Well I was aware of those things when they happened, but yeah, didn’t have to deal with them directly.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Huzzah! Well done and a truly enjoyable read! 🙂

    Fran

Leave a Reply

