TBT: Taughannock Falls, 25 years ago

At Taughannock Falls

I did a Throwback Thursday on Twitter and Facebook today for the first time in a long time. This was taken by the Ott Lake Rambler or maybe his wife at Taughannock Falls, which is near Ithaca, New York in October 1989 (he was at Cornell that year). It was a little cool, but mostly it was drizzly, so that’s why I had the jacket and my Seattle Sombrero from REI (which I still have!). Taughannock Falls is one of the prettiest places I’ve been to, and the drizzle saturated the colors of the trees and rocks.
Taughannock Falls, autumn

I visited Ithaca twice, once by plane via Pittsburgh and once by driving. I can say I never really figured out driving in Ithaca. There are about six state highways that go through the city, but they come in from one direction and leave through a completely unexpected direction, so I was always turned around. Fortunately I didn’t have to navigate to the falls by myself. I thought Ithaca was a cozy little town, though. I suppose the fact that it was autumn was a big part of that. Mr. and Mrs. Rambler had an apartment I really liked.

I can’t believe it’s been 25 years since these photos were taken, a quarter century since I was there. This whole passage of time thing is really making my head spin.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TBT: Taughannock Falls, 25 years ago

  1. maxauburn says:

    The photos are lovely!

    Yeah- it really is scary how fast time goes.

    George & I were together for 17 years- and, next January will be 17 years since he died.

    How the hell did I get to be 57 so damn fast????

  2. changeling72 says:

    Beautiful pics. And look at you! Hard to believe that 1989 was twenty-five years ago. I was sixteen and left school that year. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

