What a week — I mean last week; I’m a bit late, here. Monday is what really set it off. MOST of the day was all right, but at around 6:30 p.m. I got in my car.

First, I heard the news about Robin Williams from the car radio. It was as if someone cracked a two-by-four across my chest. I didn’t realize I felt as much affection and admiration for him as I apparently do. I don’t have anything more to say, especially nothing that hasn’t already been said. Just … damn.

And then I started driving. It had rained all day, already, but the heaviest part of the storm was in full swing. I avoided the freeway because the traffic reporters said parts were flooding already, but the surface streets were no better. At one point, one very long, long point, I circled Ferndale repeatedly trying to avoid huge expanses of standing water on the streets. Finally there was nothing to do except drive through some of these expanses. (Well, I could’ve gone back to Java Hutt and stayed for hours and hours of coffee.) At one point my car was floating, and I passed a stalled commuter bus. It took 4 1/2 hours to get home — it usually takes only 25-30 minutes.

Most of the freeways were closed well into Tuesday. The interchange of I-75 and I-696 didn’t open until Thursday, and there is still damage to be repaired in that area. And there are many, many streets lined with furniture, boxes, and carpeting that had been in basements that flooded. Some wag, invoking the huge hurricane of 2005, called this storm Latrina because of the basement flooding. Fortunately, my neighborhood was in between two significant floods and was relatively dry. It helps that I have no basement.

Then add all the other things going on: the civic violence in Ferguson, Missouri, the campaign against ISIL in Iraq, the conflict between Ukraine and Russia, the conflict between Hamas and Israel… it was a rough week and I wasn’t even involved in any of that stuff.

A big improvement came with the weekend, though. Dave came up and we went to the Woodward Dream Cruise. This was the 20th annual event, and you would expect photos here, except… well, I do have some. We cruised in my silly modern car on Friday, and on Saturday we parked and walked around Woodward between 12 Mile and 13 Mile Roads. It was fun and I didn’t even think about how sucky the world is for minutes at a time.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to

  1. zenicurean says:

    I’ve been thinking about making a Robin Williams post. He was a part of my childhood and I have this weird urge to analyse some of his work. The Internet seems… I don’t know, really full of Robin Williams posts right now, though, so I’m probably not going to.

  2. changeling72 says:

    Is it normal from your area to get much rainfall in August?

    • songdogmi says:

      We usually get about 3 inches (7.6 cm) of rainfall in August, which tends to be the driest month of the summer. So far this month the main reporting station has 5.71 inches (14.5 cm) with 11 days to go. The coming week is expected to be a bit rainy, though not as bad as last week. It’s often dry here in August, and grass usually turns brown without watering. Not this year — everything is lush and green.

  3. maxauburn says:

    Robin was a bigger part of my life than I’d realized. George & I watched MORK & MINDY, and later, many of his movies together. He was always a favorite for us, and for me, still, at age 57. Missing him lots now.

    • songdogmi says:

      I actually never watched Mork & Mindy much. I think he was too “weird” for my mom to handle, and she controlled the TV when I was a kid. I liked the dramas he was in quite a lot, especially Awakenings, The Fisher King, and of course Dead Poets Society. I have one of his stand-up comedy shows on DVD and it’s awesome.

      • maxauburn says:

        I need to get Mork & Mindy on DVD, if I can.

        I have 11 of Robin Williams’ movies on DVD, with 3 more on order, although it may be a month or more before I get them.

        He’s been my favorite comedian/actor since 1978.

        Tom Hanks is second after that. I ought to start stocking up on his movies, too. Never know how much longer we’ll have such great actors in our midst.

  4. Anonymous says:

    The news about Robin Williams didn’t sink in for me until Tuesday morning. I cried and laughed at the same time. Getting hit in the chest with a 2×4 is an accurate way to describe it.

    I found out Monday night. My sister lives up by Pontiac, and I wanted to see how she, her husband, and their walkout basement on one of the small lakes up there faired. They were fine, then she had an odd tense note in her voice when she asked if I’d heard the news about Robin. I hadn’t.

    Between that and Hubby’s cross country journey to his mom’s in Dearborn via Allen Park, that Monday was one for the books.

    Fran (Oakley’s looking for cool dry spots)

Leave a Reply

