Hey there, how ya been? Yeah, I know I’ve been AWOL lately. That wasn’t my plan, but then I can’t really say I had a plan in the first place. I had this vague idea that I would do Stuff and maybe Things, but then I took a bunch of long naps, and there you are. I just went to visit Dave for his birthday; it was one of those with the big round numbers attached, and we ate out a lot as a result. There were also gifts involved, including this, which is kind of incredible. I know one shouldn’t brag about gifts one gives, but this one seemed like quite the accomplishment for someone who isn’t really any good at gifting.

I have a couple of good ideas for future posts. I’ve said that before and you’ve no reason to believe me now, I’m sure, but I will write them, really I will. I’ll have to do it this week, though, because next week I’m off to the wilds of the Upper Peninsula for the Hiawatha Music Festival with all my Marquette friends. Remind me to pick up my mandolin and try to remember how to play it.

Anyway, that’s the quick news. How’ve you been? You’re looking good, y’know.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. maxauburn says:

    That is a nice gift!

    Don’t worry about what people may or may not be thinking about you.

    They like you here. I like you here.

    Post when you can- and have a great week!

    • songdogmi says:

      I figured the best way to handle a milestone birthday was to provide an extremely pleasant way to forget that it’s a milestone birthday. 🙂 Well, ok, one doesn’t guzzle a 15-year-old single malt scotch, so it’ll actually be a pleasant way to remember the birthday from time to time.

      You have a great week, too!

  2. jjfmi says:

    Welcome back! And that WAS a cool gift. (I’m not a scotch drinker, but I’ve bought good scotch for others…)

    Have a great time at Hiawatha! No Bliss for me this year (again).. but making up for it by kidnapping Sharon next week for a trip to Chicago. 🙂

    • songdogmi says:

      Good scotch is a joy. I know, I sound like a lush … but at the price of a good scotch, I can’t afford to be a lush. 🙂

      Thanks — Hiawatha should be fun. I don’t know most of the performers up there this time, but I’m sure I’ll come to appreciate them, and the jamming in the camping area will be fun. The only thing is, the long-range weather forecast says it’ll be cooler than usual there. That might make fingering guitars and fiddles a bit uncomfortable.

      What’s in Chicago, anything in particular? Sounds like it’ll be a great trip no matter what.

      • jjfmi says:

        Don’t feel badly about having good taste in booze. Sharon re-introduced me to tequila over the last few years. My previous introduction (and subsequent abandonment) was to a cheap rot-gut variety, and I didn’t miss it. Patron Silver and Gold, however, are smooth and very nice. (And also way more expensive than I can usually afford.)

        We’re just doing an extended weekend getaway in the Windy City. She’s been stressed lately, and I wanted to give her a break. We booked a nice hotel room (with in-room jacuzzi) downtown, and we’re taking the train there. Other than a meetup one evening with one of her friends there, no plans – depending on the weather, we’ll likely spend time exploring museums, outdoor stuff (Navy Pier, among other locations), and hopefully some good restaurants.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Glad that you and Dave had a good time for his birthday. 🙂

    I can’t drink anything harder than a glass of wine these days; however, donations of nice Shiraz-es for a birthday ending in two this fall are gratefully accepted. 😉

    Charlie, I look forward to your music festival report. 🙂

    Fran

Leave a Reply

