I’m having more coffee

At work last week, I composed a large print edition of a new installment of a mystery series that takes place in a coffeeshop. I was prompted to Tweet thus:

Prologue of book: “Should I kill myself, or have a cup of coffee?” (Camus) Well, the book’s set in a coffeehouse so I bet you have a cuppa.

Yes, the whole book started off with an Albert Camus quote (I know not from where, specifically) and went on from there. I’m guessing there was a murder somewhere, and the coffeeshop owner ended up solving the case. I’m just guessing, because you’d be amazed how little you really have to read of a book to be able to lay out its pages. Reading is for the proofreaders.

That tweet got me a new follower for a brief time: an account for Albert Camus. I notice it’s gone from my follower list, unfortunately. Just as well, since that’s about the peak of my philosophical musings.

I do have fun with Twitter. Don’t worry, though, it’s not as if I’m putting all my thoughts there so there’s nothing to share here. Turns out, the last week didn’t generate much material for me to share anywhere. Some weeks are like that.

Long weekend here in the US of A, with Memorial Day on Monday. My family and I are having a cookout at my house tomorrow. Monday, I’d like to go for a drive somewhere and look for either good photographs or birds. For once, we have great weather all weekend long; usually it all falls apart halfway through and it gets rainy and chilly. Not this time, though. We deserve that after the winter we had.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m having more coffee

  1. changeling72 says:

    Are you ever prompted to read any of the texts you work on?

    • songdogmi says:

      Yes, though unfortunately not too often because I’m in kind of a long-term reading lapse. A couple of notable examples: Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson series (a female mechanic who’s also a shape-shifting coyote falls in with a werewolf pack that’s on the verge of revealing themselves as what they are), which we did at least three volumes of; and James Thompson’s Inspector Vaara series (set in Finland, very dark police procedurals). We have the informal perk of, when we’re done with evaluating “check copies” of the books, some of them are available as giveaways to the employees who work on them. I’ve grabbed quite a few books, hoping to find the time to read them.

      The free books benefited my mother quite a lot; I would bring her books she might enjoy and she’d plow through the good ones most happily. She read a lot of J.D. Robb’s Eve Dallas series, for one. I have to confess, I would read parts of these while working on them, and so I could talk with Mom about them.

Leave a Reply

