What’s new at LJ?

LJ has a new CEO, and a new plan. Did you know this? I don’t think it was announced in LJ-News or any official LJ source. I unearthed an article while doing my semi-regular LJ news trawl:
Under Ex-Googler CEO, LiveJournal Gets A Revamp, Promises New Services, Apps And More In 2014
The new CEO has names like Google in her resume, and she wants to emphasize our long-form contributions that make LJ more like Medium than Tumblr. The article mentions the very recent makeover as part of the efforts.

TechCrunch’s article seems relatively optimistic while still noting the common view of LJ as a relic of bygone days. I noticed that it didn’t mention the oligarch behind LJ’s “new ownership” (I think SUP is still a part-owner, somewhere). It hardly mentioned Russia at all, come to think of it. Anyway, it is well worth watching this space, meaning LJ in general, to see what happens.

-*-*-*-*-

My LJ/Russia news trawl dug up these as well. Global Voices Online reported that the director of LJ Ukraine resigned after a disagreement with his management over what he was saying in his blog about the Crimea situation (31 March 2014). A few weeks later, it reported that LJ was taking steps to protect users as Russian lawmakers pass laws to control media and bloggers and media (24 April 2014).

Finally, a blog in the Washington Post discusses The logic of Russian Internet Censorship (16 March 2014). Did you know that LJ’s servers are still located in the United States? That’s among one of the factors that may be influencing how far Putin and the Russian government take censorship and control of online media.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What’s new at LJ?

  1. kishenehn says:

    Wow, that’s actually slightly encouraging!

  2. wait n see!

    It completely pisses me off though that the revamp is aimed at the kiddies YET AGAIN. It’s like people over 30 don’t use the internet, so why bother with them?

  3. maxauburn says:

    It’s sad but yes, this country is youth oriented, but only as long as it’s the kiddies who do the most impulse spending.

    You better believe that, if things were reversed, and it was the older people who were the biggest impulse buyers, things would revolve around them.

    • songdogmi says:

      They’re also trying to get kiddies to get in the habit of buying specific things, so they keep buying them forever. Once the habit is formed, companies don’t have to work to keep the customers. I guess.

  4. heleninwales says:

    Very interesting. Thanks for the link.

    I know I’m now an old fogey, but I really do not get this current craze for just posting looped video gifs that often run too fast for me to be able to make out what exactly is happening. I love LJ because it contains original content and the long from makes it possible to recount an anecdote or develop an idea properly.

    I do hope that LJ will continue and that in the makeover, they don’t lose what so many of us enjoy and value.

    • songdogmi says:

      You’re welcome. I’m with you; I like that LJ is more than just photos and videos and 140 characters of text.

      I hate looped video gifs. I always want to pause them at some point, but you can’t. (Unless you can download it and put it in some other program and take it apart, maybe. Who wants to go through that?)

Leave a Reply

