Brief notes re: LJ

1. The previous post, about my first CD being available on Bandcamp, has drawn at least twenty spam comments. You haven’t seen these, because they’ve all been caught and quarantined, and then I went and stomped them mercilessly deleted them with a simple click. I hadn’t noticed any spam comments in quite a long time. I hope it’s not because of the link in the post.

2. LJ has redesigned the friends feed, user profile, and (so I see now) the post new entry page. I guess it looks nice and everything works as it should. But it triggered my knee-jerk ire over gratuitous change. Oh, maybe there are some behind-the-scenes things that work better. I’m just seeing so many websites changing their user interface so it’s all kleen and has cute little icons that you have to figure out what they do, and you have to find features that are hidden now though you used to use them all the time. I’m still unhappy over the changes Flickr implemented a few weeks ago. At least the LJ changes aren’t that user-unfriendly. I just wish web developers could let things be for a while, that’s all.

OK, enough of my grouchiness. There’s a trip to write about; I’ll try to get that up soon.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Brief notes re: LJ

  1. maxauburn says:

    I just switched things here back to the old view.

    I don’t like it when things are changed simply for the sake of change.

    • songdogmi says:

      I thought about switching it back at first, but I’ll stick with the new version. Maybe there’s some real reason they changed it other than “This is the new fashion!” And it seems just as functional as it was before.

  2. changeling72 says:

    You guys are showing your age! I was a bit put out at first (showing mine), but I am sure I will soon get used to it and forget is was ever any different. It’s good to know that the owners are investing in the site and not writing it off as the dinosaur so many claim it to be.

    • songdogmi says:

      Get offa my lawn! *shakes cane at you* I’m sure I’ll be OK with the new LJ look. It’s not as obtuse as some other recent redesigns in other websites and it is pretty clean.

Leave a Reply

