A birthday missing an important guest

Yesterday (May 3rd) was my mother’s 75th birthday. Would have been, I guess is more correct. I was going to write something elegiac, but I haven’t been up to it. My back went out last Sunday and hasn’t really started to loosen up again until this evening. Between 9 p.m yesterday and 5:30 p.m. today, I spent all but four or five hours in bed, trying to outlast the pain, and that might’ve worked. I even managed a short walk around downtown Ferndale while the sun went down, before coming into Java Hutt for an iced mocha.

Yesterday afternoon, my sister hosted me and my nephew’s family for dinner. She mostly wanted to not be alone, and that was good for me too. For dessert we had danishes, since regular cake didn’t seem right. My older great-niece suddenly discovered birds yesterday. My sister has a bird feeder on her porch railing, so Sophia started her life list with ten bird species that came up to the feeder, plus one more that was in the yard. Nothing rare or unusual, but she was excited for every bird. Lisa and I helped her identify them. It was fun to watch Sophia get into it. Mom would have approved.

I hope my back is on its way to mended for now. I have stuff I need to get done this week. I’ve been procrastinating on some stuff on behalf of Mom’s estate and that can’t keep waiting. Next weekend, I’m actually going to visit Dave for the first time since last July. I hope I remember how to get there.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A birthday missing an important guest

  1. kishenehn says:

    Sounds like the day was as good as it could have been. It’s lots of fun watching kids discover things for the first time. šŸ™‚

    • songdogmi says:

      It was fun. Sophia is almost 8. I’m not sure she’s ready for scanning treetops for obscure warblers, but give her time. She was excited at every chickadee and nuthatch that came to the feeder. šŸ™‚ Her birthday is in mid-June, and she might get a small bird book if I can find one for her age range. My big Peterson’s is a little much for her. (It might be a little much for ME.)

      Her younger siblings are 4 1/2 and 2, and they weren’t really into it at all yet. It requires a lot of focus.

Leave a Reply

