Poetry that could change your mind about poetry

I’ve done nothing for National Poetry Month. Nothing! What kind of poetry fan am I? Maybe not the most ardent one. Or maybe just preoccupied with the wrong things.

I’ll start small: Here’s a link from the Huffington Post: 13 Poetry Collections For People Who Think They Don’t Like Poetry.

The second book on the list is by Ted Kooser, a poet I became introduced to through his collaboration with one of my favorite writers, Jim Harrison. Their book Braided Creek is a collection of 300 poems they wrote to each other over a span of years. The poems go well together stylistically and thematically. I went from there to Kooser’s The Poetry Home Repair Manual: Practical Advice for Beginning Poets. It’s a whimsical title for a book full of practical information. If I ever get back to writing poetry, I will reread it to get my bearings.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

