Birthday make-up

As it turns out, Sunday was a fine replacement for the fiasco that was my actual birthday last week. My sister and her husband collaborated on a fine meatloaf (and I got leftovers too!), and my nephew and his family helped eat that and the birthday cake, which was the often-imitated, never-equalled Sanders Chocolate Bumpy Cake. My main contribution was to clean the living room and kitchen, and it was nice to have that neat space, for a little while at least.

The night before that, I went to singer/pianist Lisa Hurt‘s CD release party at The Dovetail. She put on a fine show. I only saw a few people there I knew, but it was a good night to be out and about.

Other than that, I seem to have lost the ability to nap efficiently. See, a nap is supposed to be twenty, thirty minutes, maybe an hour. I’ve been having monster naps lately, something in the neighborhood of 2.5 hours or more. Naps on steroids. This isn’t all that one might think it is. Kills the whole evening, it does. We all can probably guess why I’m doing this, so I’m trying to not be too upset with myself about it.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday make-up

  1. changeling72 says:

    Good to hear you’ve been having a good time.

  2. maxauburn says:

    Great that the make up birthday was good!

    It takes time to recover from such a major loss.

    You never really get over the loss, but you do get used to it.

    *HUGE HUGS!*

Leave a Reply

