Unhappy birthday

I left work early yesterday, which is generally a good thing, but it was for a doctor appointment to go over some test results, which is not a good thing. Nothing serious, and nothing I’ll go into here. Halfway through the appointment, I realized that I did not have my car keys.

I had gotten to the appointment early, so I turned off the car and sat quietly for a few minutes. I should’ve had the keys in my hand at that point, but I had left them in the ignition instead. That’s where they stayed when I got out and locked the car. (In my car, it’s possible to lock the doors without the keys. My sister tells me her three-years-newer car doesn’t allow that. Well, LA DI DAH Ms. Up-to-date!)

So I got to the car and visually confirmed that the keys were inside, and then got out the cell phone to call AAA (the Automobile Association of America). The nice operator said she’d send someone to unlock the car within 55 minutes. It was about 7 p.m. and the temperature, I learned later, was 28 degrees F with a wind chill of 17. My gloves and hat were locked securely inside the car with the keys. Fortunately my coat has a hood. That didn’t do much for my hands.

So fifty minutes later the guy from AAA comes, spends all of 67 seconds unlocking the car, and all is well. Except by this point I was so cold and tired, I decide to go to McDonald’s for dinner. There, I was accosted by a homeless young woman who was looking for $20 so she could get a room and warm up. She was very insistent. And I remembered how cold I had just been. So there went $20. Hey, it’s only money, right? I politely declined to further subsidize her for a strawberry shake, though. I mean, I’m a patsy, but I’m not THAT much of a patsy. OK, I am, but by then my ability to cope with the world had pretty much subsided and I had to go before she pleaded with me for a ride to the motel.

I got home with my “dinner” and locked the door at 8:30. I’m surprised I even got out of bed this morning, after all that.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Unhappy birthday

  1. changeling72 says:

    I am sorry to hear you had such poor birthday. I hope the subsequent year is better for you!

  2. kishenehn says:

    Man, you really know how to party! 🙂

    Seriously, I think you deserve a do-over birthday. Plan something fun to do, and make it count for that.

  3. jjfmi says:

    Think of it this way- if you HAD given her a lift to the motel, she may have offered some sort of barter arrangement in exchange for extra funding. Eeeek…

    Here’s hoping for a better year to make up for the birthday. 🙂

    • songdogmi says:

      That thought has crossed my mind. It made me want to run a washcloth through my ears to scrub my brain. I’m sure she’s basically a nice person but I suspect some sort of long-term substance abuse.

      It’s been better since. I haven’t locked my keys in the car for almost 48 hours now!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Oh, nooo!

    I hope Sunday is a karmic return in the nicest possible way. If I could upload one of my flourless chocolate cakes and email it, I would…

    Fran

    • songdogmi says:

      I’m now up to over 3.5 days without locking my keys in the car or being accosted by panhandlers!

      One of my coworkers brought in chocolate candy after lunch, so that almost makes up for the lack of flourless chocolate cakes.

Leave a Reply

