This is the tough day, at least I expected it to be. It’s the first Sunday since Mom passed that I haven’t had anything to do, such as clean out her apartment or interact with family. Sunday night is also the time when I would have dinner with Mom, either just us or the whole family, most weeks for at least the last decade. My sister is occupied with her stepson and his family, who are in town from Winnipeg (yes, Manitoba!) and having a birthday party for one of the little kids. So I’m on my own.

I’ve had a few ideas in my head to write in LJ posts, and a comment or two, but the focus for actually writing any of those hasn’t really come. I’m at Java Hutt in Ferndale, which is always busy on Sundays, so there’s people to watch and the overhead music is interesting.

My original plan for today was to take a drive somewhere. The weather is fair, but stupidly cold at 20°F below normal. The cold wasn’t a dealbreaker, but the sudden 2.5 hour nap ending at 4:00 p.m. was. I hadn’t figured out a destination, anyway. One possibility was to go to cemeteries in either Detroit or St. Clair County to visit the graves of relatives. I can do that anytime; they aren’t going anywhere. (I’m not a Goth; it’s for genealogical research. Honest.)

Tonight, I plan to do one of two things: scan in old photos from the wallets of my parents, or dig out a guitar and see if it still works. I probably could do both, since when I do play guitar it’s usually for only a half-hour or so, for some reason. All those years of 15-minute sets at open mics warped my practice habits, maybe. Either or both sound good. After I go get dinner, first.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. kishenehn says:

    *hugs*

    Hope the day sorted itself out as well as it could. The next one will be easier.

    • songdogmi says:

      *hugback* The day and evening turned out OK. Maybe I can’t predict when the thing will actually hit me and I should stop trying to predict it. šŸ™‚ I did play a little guitar and scan a few little photos (like, photo-booth size ones, teeny tiny) from my dad’s wallet. So last night counts as good.

Leave a Reply

