Flickr & LJ break up, a little

Flickr recently implemented a change in the way we connect our photos there with other services. This article in their forum discusses it. They’re adding some functions to enhance photo sharing to the more popular services like Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, and Pinterest. But that’s coming at the expense of sharing with blog services LJ, Blogspot, and WordPress. There has been a way to start at Flickr and share your photo directly to LJ; that will end on March 25.

BUT… it will be possible to capture some HTML code from Flickr to paste into an LJ post. That’s how I’ve been doing it for the most part for quite a while. So I don’t expect there will be holes in my entries here. Fingers are crossed.

The Flickr forum post states that LJ, WordPress, and Blogger/Blogspot (the three biggest blog services, I think) account for only 1 percent of shared photos. I guess they’re just putting their resources where it makes more sense for them.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flickr & LJ break up, a little

  1. kishenehn says:

    Kind of sad to see all of the long-form blogging venues get cast aside by Yahoo. Our short-attention-span world can be so maddening …

    • songdogmi says:

      Agreed.

      You’d think it would be easy enough to just let the Flickr functions for LJ etc. continue, but maybe they’re concerned that something will break eventually that they don’t want to fix. And who cares anyway? I’m sure 1% of the total photo shares is still a big number, but the bigger number always wins with the beancounters.

Leave a Reply

