My mother passed away this morning at approximately 8:50 a.m. It was not unexpected, but the actual moment was a surprise.

I’ll write more at another time. I’m not ready to write much yet. But I’m doing OK, considering.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to

  1. innerwolf says:

    Not an easy time, no good words ether.
    We are thinking about you and your family.

  2. Sorry for your loss Charlie.

  3. tarkrai says:

    You have my sincere condolences. Even when expected, it’s unexpected; and the loss will always take time to adjust to. Give yourself that time.

  4. quetico says:

    Been there recently myself. Haven’t been commenting, but I have been following and keeping the both of you in my thoughts and prayers. Hang in there.

  5. stitchjock says:

    So sorry to hear; my condolences. And agreed — even expected is unexpected.

  6. jjfmi says:

    Oh geez… just saw this. Deepest of condolences and biggest hugs… I knew you saw it coming, but I know it still hurts. Call if you need anything, ok..? Please let me know of any arrangements.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thank you, John… I know we talked yesterday, but I’ll mention this here for all to see: We don’t have arrangements yet, but we’re planning to have a memorial of some sort for both my mom and my dad sometime in the spring (assuming we get one this year ;-). We haven’t talked about any specific details yet.

  7. zenicurean says:

    My condolences. Are you okay?

    • songdogmi says:

      Thank you, friend … I’m doing OK, I think. It probably won’t really hit me until Mom’s apartment is empty and we turn the keys over, or sometime after all the other administrivia is done. For now, I’m dealing with it pretty well.

Leave a Reply

