Winter Olympics

Mom has been watching the Winter Olympics every night, so I have been watching them with her. (Please don’t shun me!) We’ve watched a lot of Olympics together over the decades, so it has been nice to share these with her. I’m disappointed by NBC’s coverage during prime time, because it is so incomplete and the interviews are so over-the-line. I’m thinking especially of the interview where the correspondent made skier Bode Miller break down in tears after his bronze medal run. I’m also getting very tired of the commercials — they have run the same commercials for the entire two weeks of the event. You would think some of the advertisers would have swapped some of the old ones for new after a while.

The events have been fun to watch. I haven’t seen enough of the hockey, unfortunately. I have finally figured out the allure of the X-Games style skiing events; snowboards look like fun, and if I wasn’t middle-aged, overweight, and brittle I would consider trying it. I still don’t really like short-track speed skating, but long-track is OK. And we watched all of the figure skating. I still can’t tell a Lutz from a Selchow but I do know when they’re landed nicely.

They really should’ve considered holding them in a place that actually has winter. Never mind the political minefields; temperatures have sometimes been in the 50s (10–15°C) in Sochi, with rain. That ain’t winter.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter Olympics

  1. Anonymous says:

    Next Olympics, I swear I am watching them on line via BBC or CTV. NBC’s coverage is. the. worst. EVER! The interviewer who pushed Bode into tears needs to be banished to talk show purgatory. JMHO. I will spare you the diatribe about Matt Lauer and the state of journalism or lack thereof in the US.

    I’m sorry your mom had such a challenging week. It looks like it will be sunny weather wise, this week. I hope you all can get out.

    (”’) Fran and Oakley (”’)

    • songdogmi says:

      NBC capped it by showing a huge and totally gratuitous documentary about Tonya Harding and Nancy Kerrigan, and that just disgusts me. Mom and I switched to CBC and watched the recap of the men’s hockey gold medal game and the 4-man bobsled final. Earth to NBC: There were still sports in Sochi today.

      The worst thing for me is, I always want more when the Olympics end. More sports, that is, not more celebrity nonsense.

      It does seem like it’ll be a pretty good week weather-wise this week. I hope that helps Mom feel better.

  2. jjfmi says:

    I think they’ve already picked up a place in South Korea for the next Winter Olympics – but the one after that should be Michigan. 😀

Leave a Reply

