Sunday update comes on Saturday this week

I’m still spending most of my non-work time at my mother’s apartment. The problem with mostly sitting and waiting for someone to stand up so I can make sure she doesn’t fall is, my brain turns to mush. Not complete mush, I mean, I still remember how to cook and wash dishes and such. I just don’t come up with interesting things to say on social media. And what is more important, anyway?

Mom had more bad days than good ones this week. For the first time she spent most of a day in bed. That was yesterday, but it seemed to be good for her as today she’s up and working word search puzzles. Her grandson and his wife visited briefly, which was very nice. (Even if his mother had to shame him into visiting. He’s not dealing well, see. But then, who would?)

I had been hoping to take Mom out for a ride somewhere this weekend. The weather is permitting today, but she is still pretty weak and I’m not sure she’d handle it well, even with a wheelchair to get to and from the car. Maybe when it gets a few more degrees above freezing, we’ll give it a go.

She might go to a nursing home for a few days. Did you know Medicare (the U.S. government’s program of health insurance for the elderly) will pay for a 5–day spell in a home for respite purposes? I didn’t until this week. A nice benefit might be some more professional care for her feet, which have many problems. We bandage and clean them every day but we don’t really know what a nurse would know. Anyway, we’ll find out by the middle of the week whether this will happen. We don’t really want her to be in a nursing home, but it might be better for her.

I’ll be here for a few more hours, then my sister will relieve me and I can go home and sleep in my own bed for the first night since Monday.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday update comes on Saturday this week

Leave a Reply

