The week just past fell into a fairly placid pattern for Mom, my sister, and me. This is good; no new negative developments. Mom went to Bingo for the first time since this all started, and though she didn’t win she got to spend time with her Bingo buddies and that was worth the price of admission.

The highlight for me was Saturday morning, when over coffee Mom and I did some reminiscing, mostly Mom talking about her childhood. Some of what she said was familiar but a good bit was new, some positive memories from an overall hard childhood. Later, when I was by myself at dinner, I wrote down notes on everything Mom related — filled an entire page. I’ll eventually add other stories I’ve heard over the years along with a timeline as best I can determine. I don’t expect to write anything formal from it, as I think too many specific dates and places are unretrievable now. But it’ll be something to keep, and something to help with the family history projects I’m pursuing. I wish I had done this with Dad, but he was never all that forthcoming anyway.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. changeling72 says:

    Good to hear your mom is getting out and about and able to see her friends.

    Writing down her recollections sounds like a great idea. I keep meaning to take my dictaphone home to record Mum and Dad’s.

    • songdogmi says:

      That would be cool if they would sit still for it. A friend suggested that I take a video camera with me to shoot Mom and her stories with, but I’m not sure she wants that at all.

      Fortunately, the Bingo game is on the 2nd floor of the building she lives in, so she doesn’t have to go outside to play and see friends.

  2. kishenehn says:

    I wish I’d had more moments like that with my Mom, too. I try sometimes with my Dad, but like yours, he’s not the most forthcoming of people.

    Good thoughts to you …

    • songdogmi says:

      I think it’s a dad thing. I’d probably be the same way.

      You have your mom’s journals, which probably answer quite a few questions you might have, yes?

      • kishenehn says:

        Yep. The journals answer a lot of questions … and of course, they also raise many other questions that will now never be answered.

        But I suppose the past is meant to be fuzzy, at least in a way.

Leave a Reply

