Dateline: Mom’s place

Mom was released from the hospital on Monday evening. She has bruises and a slowly receding knot on her head, but there was no lasting damage, fortunately. Since then, my sister and I have been a constant presence in her apartment, one of us here at all times. My sister started a family leave of absence from her job, and I got Mom cable TV and Internet, which will help me work from her apartment if necessary. Mom has gotten a lot of assistive equipment, including a hospital bed that is working out very well for her. Best of all, there have been no falls this week!

We’ll go with this same plan for at least this week. Mom is hoping to get stronger (we are hoping she does too). We’re also getting her a medic alert button to wear around her neck, which might allow us to leave her alone for some periods of time. We haven’t hired any companions, because that seemed kind of daunting and maybe not yet necessary. She is getting visits from nurses and home health aides.

As with last week, I didn’t do much else besides work and helping Mom. That’s OK, though I know it probably doesn’t make for the most interesting LJ posts.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dateline: Mom’s place

  1. changeling72 says:

    Good to hear you and your sister are finding a way around your mom’s issues.

    • songdogmi says:

      We’re making it work so far. Mom isn’t even unhappy over everything we’re trying to do for her. She has been a do-it-herself person till now, and all that we’re doing for her would’ve driven her nuts, but now she’s glad for the help.

  2. kishenehn says:

    You and your sister are doing a wonderful thing.

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks, Mark. We’re doing the best we can. I kind of wish my parents had the resources to send at least one of us to medical school… but hey. As I say below a couple of times, we couldn’t do this without the support of the nurses and aides who come visit every week.

  3. Anonymous says:

    You and Lisa are handling this as well as anyone can. We’re with {you guys.}

    (”’)

    • songdogmi says:

      I think we will look back and say what you’ve said, Fran. It’s hard to believe it when we’re in the middle of it now. We’re very glad for the support from the home nurses and health aides, as well as the support from friends and family. *hugs*

      Special thanks to Oakley. Give him an extra skritch for me. šŸ™‚

  4. maxauburn says:

    You and your sister are great!

  5. innerwolf says:

    Getting old is not easy.
    Assisted living is likely in order. Things typically do not get better and this will only become more evident with the passing of time. Its not that bad of an ordeal if she has her mental faculties about her. This is the route I have had to take with mother at the end of last year.

    • songdogmi says:

      I saw that about your mother in your journal. I hope she is doing well there. Assisted living would be a good thing for my mom, since my sister and I are doing probably most of what they would do for her at an assisted living facility. Unfortunately, she doesn’t have a good prognosis due to the cancer she has, so we’re trying to keep her in her apartment for as long as she has, unless that becomes too difficult.

      They never really train us for this part, do they?

Leave a Reply

