Sunday report: New verse same as the first verse

Mom was discharged from the hospital on Monday, Jan. 27th. It was kind of a rocky week. She got pretty weak in the hospital, especially in the last three days where she got no physical therapy at all, so at home she had extreme difficulty getting up from chairs and such. She fell three times, though they were the plop-on-your-butt falls. But on Friday, she did a doozy of a fall, and I didn’t find her till 7:00 when I got there from work. So now she’s back in the hospital, recovering. She has a huge knot on her head and some bruises, but she seems OK otherwise (of course, with all the issues she had before).

It was a very good argument that she should’ve had someone with her at all times, but she wanted to try on her own to be as independent as possible. As of Friday morning she seemed to be showing improvement in her mobility. So much for that. Now, we’re hoping she can go back to her apartment with either one of us kids there or a paid companion. Her confidence has taken a hit, though, and now she’s acknowledging the possibility of a nursing home. I hope it doesn’t come to that.

Last week was very hard on her, especially, but also on me since I was with her six or seven hours a day on top of trying to keep my regular work hours. And it was, ultimately, unsuccessful, really. So now we have to come up with a new plan. I’m willing to spend money on the companion, as much as it could be, if it allows her to be in her home near her friends. If that’ll be enough, that is. Well, first she has to be released from the hospital, again.

I don’t have much other news. All I did other than the foregoing was shovel snow/ice a couple of times and send text messages about Mom to people.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunday report: New verse same as the first verse

  1. maxauburn says:

    I hope she’ll be okay.

    Old people fall. It’s a sad fact of life.

    • songdogmi says:

      Yeah. She’s had balance issues for a while, and now she’s pretty weak. Sometimes she needs help to stand up, but then she’s OK. If she’s getting out of a chair that’s fairly tall, she does better.

      She’s doing OK so far. I’ve been doing a lot for her so she’s sitting more than usual, but that’s not bad. I have needed something to do while hanging out with her, anyway.

  2. changeling72 says:

    Can she not get one of those alarms for the elderly that hangs round one’s neck and calls a centralised response unit? Either that, or going into sheltered accomodation with an on-call warden, then at least she would have a little flat to herself.

    • songdogmi says:

      I called a company that has one of those alarms. They’ll probably come out early next week to talk to Mom and get it set up. Of course, I think it only works if she doesn’t knock herself out in a fall, which is exactly what happened last week. But she could press the button if she thinks she is having trouble, which it appears is what happened before she fell. (Probably a low blood glucose episode.)

      She doesn’t want to go into a facility, and I can’t really blame her. I’d like to keep her at her apartment as long as we can, and she’s getting a lot of support from visiting nurses and people like that, so it’s do-able for now.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Pachouli and rose incense will be burned. Sending thoughts of peace to everyone on that end. The PB and potato chip sandwich didn’t upload for some reason. 😉

    (”’) Fran and Oakley (”’)

    • songdogmi says:

      Aw man… this Internet ain’t all it’s cracked up to be, is it? I mean, if you can’t get a decent peanut butter and potato chip sandwich….

      Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

