What the last seven days have been like

The weather report from the past week: There was a lot of snow, then it got very cold, then it warmed up and rained a lot. Now it’s a bit warmer than normal and if it wasn’t for the huge crusty gray piles of snow in corners of parking lots and along the streets you’d think it’s a normal January here.

It was supposed to be the first normal workweek since mid-December, but the extreme snow and cold disrupted the normalcy. I was one of the only people at my company to drive in every day of the week despite the conditions. I just work better in the office than I do at home, especially when the office is quiet because no one else is there.

[The background music here is classical music, today, specifically the works of film composer John Williams. I just had to stop to listen to the theme from Dances with Wolves, and now it’s the music from Superman.]

My mom continues to do pretty well. We postponed a doctor appointment because of the cold weather, and she hasn’t been out much in the last week, but other than that she’s good. The rest of my family is having issues. I don’t want to go into them here. I’m shaking my head a lot, though.

I trekked out to Ann Arbor to see John Finan (jjfmi) and Sharon Tse play music at Crazy Wisdom Bookstore and Tea Room last night. They sounded great and it was good to see them again. Crazy Wisdom is a wonderful store, and I always want to buy things there even though I’m pretty much a skeptic on everything now. On the other hand, I do own two tarot decks already, so … consider the source.

The big event at work is, I was assigned a new computer late last week: A MacBook Air running OS X 10.9.1. It’s so new I probably do not match its system requirements for coolness. It needs a couple of things, like the ability to connect to the network drives I need daily (d’oh!), but it has a couple of perks. Usually they take the really fun stuff off new computers before they hand them out. Not this time. This one has GarageBand (recording software) and iMovie. Don’t tell anyone. I think this computer will have to come home with me every day. That is, once I figure out how to attach a microphone to it. It has USB and FireWire ports and an HDMI port, but nothing to connect audio devices to that I’m used to. I can’t do much to accommodate music recording, since it isn’t my machine and it’s for typesetting, but … well, I’m going to do a little research.

Anyway, that’s the news from here. Sending it back to you, Chet.

ETA (Jan. 13): After I posted this, I remembered that the theme for Dances with Wolves was composed by John Barry. DUH. I guess I’m not sure what the program was anymore, maybe just movie themes in general.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What the last seven days have been like

  1. kishenehn says:

    Congratulations on the Macbook! Those things are great.

    And tragically, I’m totally old enough to understand the reference in that last sentence. (As a strange aside, one of the places I walk my dog, by the way, is next to the cemetery where Chet Huntley is buried.)

    • songdogmi says:

      They don’t make newscasters like Chet Huntley anymore, sadly. That’s a nifty bit of info about his burial place — wouldn’t have guessed that in a million years.

      The new Mac is pretty spiffy. I just discovered, according to this, that the headphone jack is also the audio line-in jack. If that’s still true, then I might actually be in business. I’ll have to try it out tonight. Then tomorrow if I can get my network drives and fonts installed, I’ll be golden.

      • kishenehn says:

        Yeah, Huntley was a Montana boy, and when he retired from NBC he came back home. His retirement project was the establishment of Big Sly ski resort … something I really wish he hadn’t done.

        Good luck with that thing tonight. 🙂

  2. maxauburn says:

    Huntley & Brinkley. Old enough to remember ’em.

    Glad your mom is doing better!

    I love John Williams musical scores!

  3. changeling72 says:

    I am glad to hear that your mom is doing well.

    The Crazy Wisdom store sounds like my kind of hangout!

    • songdogmi says:

      Thanks!

      Crazy Wisdom is cool… lots of spiritual and metaphysical books, gifts, and tools, along with some mainstream fiction and nonfiction. The tea room part has a nice selection of teas (although I had coffee … such a philistine I am!) and tea services for sale. Plus there are community meetings and the music on Fridays and Saturdays. It helps they’re in downtown Ann Arbor but not very far from the University of Michigan.

Leave a Reply

