What REALLY happened New Year’s Eve

New Year’s Eve in Songdogland was thrills! Chills! Spills! Well, not exactly.

Dave and I made boeuf bourguignonne (which I should just call beef Burgundy because I can say that) in the crock pot, with a salad, a baguette, and shoestring potatoes — sorry, pommes frites. It was extremely tasty, and the wine was our favorite, Yellow Tail shiraz. Lots of wine. Wow, that was a lot of wine.

Entertainment was the movie Crazy Heart on DVD. Jeff Bridges as a rough county music singer on hard times. It was a very good film. Dave said it would’ve been a good film even with a different star, which, considering there was a lot of country music in it, is high praise. But it was nice to see Jeff Bridges. Very nice. He sings well, too.

And then there was the ball drop in New York City on CNN with Anderson Cooper and Kathy Griffin. We only watched about 25 minutes of that before we had dessert, Derby pie. Mmmmm. After that, TV was too annoying so we turned it off and … looked at pictures on Tumblr. <sheepish grin>

Basically, it was a quiet night at home. I remember when I used to go out for New Year’s. I don’t really miss that.

Here’s hoping everyone out there had a great New Year’s Eve, however you observed it, and that 2014 is a kind year to you.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What REALLY happened New Year’s Eve

  1. Anonymous says:

    Just a couple of party animals, weren’t you? 😉

    After running errands (including picking up Oakley at doggy day care) and getting caught in a snow storm, I came home, cooked a package of bison and a sweet potato for Oakley’s dinner and a pizza for mine and cursed myself for forgetting a bottle of wine. Oakley napped while I did some journaling and had the tube on in the background. I think we called it a day around 10, then got really crazy and watched not one but TWO episodes of “Emergency!” on Netflix. Hope that you’re not too shocked by this.

    • songdogmi says:

      Whoa, slow down there … TWO episodes of “Emergency!”? Was Oakley looking at you in a concerned way? 🙂

      Been a long time since I had a bison burger. Mmmmm.

  2. Anonymous says:

    When we arrived home, Oakley just staggered off to the sofa and fell asleep after a day of playing with his friends. He doesn’t judge, especially when his favorite biscuits are involved. 🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    Rimshot!

Leave a Reply

