Ban those words!

It’s time for this year’s List of Words to be Banished from the Queen’s English for Misuse, Overuse and General Uselessness. “Selfie” is at the top of the list, quite impressive for a word that really didn’t see any usage before 2013. Apparently people are tired of it already, though not the folks at the Oxford Dictionaries, who made it their word of the year. I can’t say I agree with the Lake State list. I kind of like the word; it fits the whimsical nature of that style of self-portrait so prominent on Facebook and Instagram.

I definitely agree, though, that “-pocalypse” and “-ageddon” are overused. Way, way, way, way overused. We will have no word left to use when Armageddon or the Apocalypse actually happens. (Good thing they probably won’t, huh?) As for “twerk,” it’s not so much that I dislike the word, but I’m totally over the concept.

This year’s list totaled 13 words (or parts of words or phrases). The whole list is near 1000 words now. Chances are your least favorite words are already there.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ban those words!

  1. changeling72 says:

    I don’t think such words should be included in English dictionaries. I think the Queen’s English is far too bastardised as it is.

    • songdogmi says:

      I was surprised at how quickly a couple of words got included, including “selfie.” Maybe dictionary makers are trying to appear more hip and up-to-date. But they used to wait to see if words stuck around longer, which was a reasonable and safe approach.

Leave a Reply

