Ten books

I got this meme from Facebook (please don’t hit me!), specifically from Fran who posts comments here sometimes:

I’ve seen this both as “ten books that have influenced me” and “ten books that have stayed with you.” Perhaps they are the same. I am choosing “stayed with you” because these are some of the books I remember well and fondly. If you want to play, list them as you see fit and tag those whom you wish (10 people, or more, or less). In no particular order:

1. Writing Down the Bones (Natalie Goldberg)
2. Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance (Robert M. Pirsig)
3. The Shape of the Journey: New and Collected Poems (Jim Harrison)
4. Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch (Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett)
5. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Roald Dahl)
6. A Field Guide to the Birds, 4th Edition [Eastern] (Roger Tory Peterson)
7. The Hitch-Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams)
8. Rise Up Singing: The Group Singing Songbook (Peter Blood)
9. Money from Home (Damon Runyon)
10. The Bean Trees (Barbara Kingsolver)

Thing is, I never tag other people, but I would eagerly read any similar lists offered by others.

About songdogmi

I'm a longhaired almost-hippie stuck in the inner suburbs of a major rust-belt metropolis who's thoughtful, creative, and kind of geeky. In exchange for a paycheck I run around in a cubicle maze most days. When I escape, I play music, hang out in coffee houses, dink around on the computer, take naps, and think I should be off in the woods somewhere. Every once in a while I get in my car and drive far, far away, though I've always come back so far.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ten books

  1. comment . . .

    just can’t get myself “into”
    reading books for a very long time . . .

    like the new testament
    in the the living bible version . . .

    prefer keeping up with social networks . . .

  2. kishenehn says:

    That’s a great list.

    I’m normally not one for memes (especially ones associated with Facebook) but I’ll have to give this one some thought …

  3. livejournal says:

    Ten books

    User referenced to your post from Ten books saying: […] Originally posted by at Ten books […]

Leave a Reply

